Jump to the main content block

OCU at a Glance

OCU at a Glance




Name and Founders

The name Overseas Chinese University is attributed to the contribution and achievement of the school founders, who studied overseas and came back to Taiwan, dedicating themselves to the school’s establishment.



  • About 450 full time and part time faculty members
  • About 70% of full-time faculty members are either professor, associate professor, or assistant professor



About 10,000 full time students



More than 70,000 serving in Taiwan and Asia



Honesty and integrity


Real estate holdings

58,140 m2



The university is located near Feng Chia Business District, Taichung Gateway Park and Taichung Science Park


Library collection

About 194,000 books and other related items


Schools and departments

Overseas Chinese University consists of three schools – the School of Business and Management, the School of Information and Design, and the School of Tourism and Hospitality. Within these schools are a total of 13 departments that offer courses and award academic degrees.


Chairman of the Board

Dr. Benjamin Chen


University president

Dr. Chilik Yu



Overseas Chinese University Logo

The logo means “OCU graduates are all over the world” and also stands for the global mindset of OCU graduates. OCU graduates set off from Taiwan and sails to the whole world.


OCU mascot

Flying fish

OCU mascot